Differentiating the Unexplainable from the Inexplicable

So, having been kind of remiss with the whole blog maintenance thing and feeling itchy to just get *something* up, I’ve been debating whether or not to post this video, billed as the unofficial video for the band Zombie Zombie: a recreation of John Carpenter’s The Thing using GI Joe action figures:

Ultimately, I decided not to post it. Why? I suppose it boils down to something akin to journalistic integrity (kindly note the strong influence of something akin in that phrase). As much as I enjoy quality entertainment like this discussion between David and texas buddha, I don’t believe there’s anyone out there that thinks Hitler actually recruited Bigfoot to serve in the SS (because if he had, duh, the Allies would have lost). That is to say, it is a work of fiction.

By contrast, the stories I set out to cover fall into that space between fiction and verifiable fact. Existence of the moon? Fact. Composition of the moon including cheese? Fiction. Moon landing being an elaborate hoax? Fiction. Arguments supporting the idea that the moon landing was an elaborate hoax? Damn good reading.

So, that established, please ignore the above video.

5 Responses to “Differentiating the Unexplainable from the Inexplicable”

  1. texas buddha Says:

    Thanks for the meme-ories.

    I can’t believe you didn’t buy my bigfoot documentaries hook, line, and sinker.

  2. Eric S. Says:

    Well, I have to admit that, even with an advanced degree in Skepticism, I was almost fooled. You’ve got m@d photochopping skillz.

  3. texas buddha Says:

    You’d get a kick out of some of the comments the video has gotten at YouTube.

    I had one guy trying to talk me out of The Truth of it for several comments… Each time I would try to convince him… And each time he would make a rebuttal he seemed slightly less sure.

Leave a Reply

