How I’ve gone 5 months without a bigfoot post is a mystery in its own right

Thankfully, members of the International Brotherhood of Persistent Bigfoot Pursuers popped up on the BBC today:

Okay, I jest. The actual story and accompanying video are here on BBC News, whose videos can’t be embedded in WordPress, and whose artwork looks like it belongs hung on the refrigerator.

My favorite aspect of this report is its inclusion of a handy primer on how to address Bigfoot around the world:
 

In the US it’s known as bigfoot, in Canada as sasquatch, in Brazil as mapinguary, in Australia as a yowie, in Indonesia as sajarang gigi and, most famously of all, in Nepal as a yeti.

The little known Indian version of this legendary ape-like creature is called mande barung – or forest man – and is reputed to live in the remote West Garo hills of the north-eastern state of Meghalaya.

 My second favorite is this quote by the man in the second video down the page, I believe identified as Nelbison Sangma, in response to the reporter’s speculation that these Bigfoot sightings are “a wheeze(?) to attract tourists to Meghalaya”:

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

Which I totally plan to add to my own library of snappy responses. Even though it’s pretty clear that what Mr. Sangma means is “Yes.”

5 Responses to “How I’ve gone 5 months without a bigfoot post is a mystery in its own right”

  1. I am really excited to see a Bigfoot posting. I found an overlay for Google maps (follow the linky to find it), and found to my surprise that there is actually a Virginia Bigfoot Research Organization. A real-life sighting, not 5 miles from my house! I know what I’m doing this weekend, and I’ll plan on reporting back on Monday with any new sighting information!

  2. Wow. That’s material for a week’s worth of slow news days (like when that girl got struck by lightning and won $20). And will retroactively explain all the V-Bro T-shirts I anticipate seeing if I ever get around to hiking the Appalachian Trail.

  3. Make sure with the hiking trip on the AT that you leave the Snickers Bars at home.

  4. Sorry, no sightings at all of Bigfoot over the weekend. I did find a turtle while walking the dogs though, and the kids had good fun with that. The dogs were kind of scared of it, because it hissed at them, which I suppose goes back to the innate fear of reptiles and associated inferiority complex that mammals have towards them.

  5. Nice page. I share your interest in Bigfoot, and I’ve been watching the recent events with a keen eye as well. You should probably check out my story about my personal Bigfoot hunting expedition which started in the backwoods of Arkansas and is now headed to Australia for the “Yowie.” I just posted part one of this story, and the second half will be up tonight.
    Hope to talk to you soon,
    Matt

Leave a Reply

